Human Rights Issues in Eurasia / Правовые Вопросы В Регионах Евразии

Another 9 Countries Supported EU Visa Sanctions against Belarus

Posted by Info on 04/03/2011

The countries, decided to ban entry for representatives of the Belarusian authorities, are as follows – Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Norway, Serbia, Croatia and Montenegro.

Catherine Ashton on behalf of the EU welcomed the decision of these countries’ authorities.

EU visa sanctions in respect of certain officials of Belarus have bacome valid since February 2. The European Community has restricted some Belarusian authorities, involved in “political repression” after the announcement of presidential election results, to enter the EU. The list of banned includes 158 people.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: