EURASIA LIFT

Human Rights Issues in Eurasia / Правовые Вопросы В Регионах Евразии

Exceptionally from Norway: Right-Wing Extremists Brought Fear, Blood And Death

Posted by Info on 23/07/2011

More than 85 people have been killed when a gunman opened fire at an island youth camp in Norway, hours after a bomb attack killed seven people in the capital, Oslo.

The prime minister said he did not want to speculate on the motives of the attacks, but added: “Compared to other countries I wouldn’t say we have a big problem with right-wing extremists in Norway. But we have had some groups, we have followed them before, and our police is aware that there are some right-wing groups.”
“There have been some groups of that kind in Norway, but again I will not speculate. We will await the investigation from the police before we say anything about the case.”

While police have not officially named him, Norwegian television and newspaper reports have identified the suspect as 32-year-old Anders Behring Breivik, of Norwegian origin.
On the island the gunman was wearing a black uniform, with red edges. He looked liked a Nazi, with his police-like uniform and hair, he was very sure, calm and controlled. He looked like he knew what he was doing. He screamed at us that we would all die.

We all started to run down to the water, people had already undressed and started swimming. I thought I didn’t have enough time to take off my clothes, so I started swimming in the rain, in my clothes and big boots.I went for about 150 metres but the lake is about 800 metres long. I realised I wouldn’t make it so I turned back.

I saw him standing 10 metres from me, shooting at the people who were swimming. He aimed his machine gun at me and I screamed at him, ‘No please no, don’t do it’.”..

Leave a Reply

 
